Click the above picture to browse in multiple languages

UN New Media PeaceeverTV Editor`s Note: According to an email from the European Leaders Network, the use of nuclear weapons is the most uncertain and insecure factor that threatens humanity today. Therefore it is realistic that we are in favor of an international convention of the non-first-use policy on nuclear weapons,Because if a warmonger uses nuclear weapons first,then it will be devastating for the human beings and world peace in this world.

On Thursday 15 April 2021,US Representative Adam Smith(Chairman of the US House Armed Services Committee) andSenator Elizabeth Warren(Member of the US Senate Armed Services Committee), introduced theNo First Use Actto establish in United States policy and law that the US would not use nuclear weapons as a means of warfare first. This is one of a number of initiatives to advanceNo-First-Use (NFU) policiesin the US, other nuclear armed states and in US allies (NATO countries, Japan. South Korea and Australia). The adoption of such policies could help to lower the risk of nuclear war and pave the way for nuclear disarmament. We invite you to join awebinar on Thursday April 29,Nuclear risk-reduction and disarmament: Is it time for no-first-use policies in the USA and globally?The webinar brings together experts from the USA, other nuclear-armed states and key allied countries to discuss the proposals and possibilities for the adoption of NFU policies.See belowfor details.

Senator Elizabeth WarrenandRepresentative Adam Smith Sponsors of the No-First-Use Act in the US Congress

USA No-First-Use Act

“Threatening to use nuclear weapons first makes America less safe because it increases the chances of a miscalculation or an accident. There are no winners in a nuclear war, and the US should never start one -- I am glad to reintroduce this bill with Chairman Smith to commit the US to not using nuclear weapons first.” Senator Warren, sponsor of the No-First-Use Act in the US Senate For background on NFU please see:

NFU Webinar April 29

Session 1: Asia/Pacific 7:30am CET, Islamabad 10:30am, Delhi 11am, Beijing 1:30pm, Seoul/Tokyo 2:30pm, Sydney 3:30pm,Wellington 5:30pm,Hawaii 7:30 pm on April 28, San Francisco 10:30pm on April 28.Register now. Speakers:
  • Hon Gareth Evans(Australia),Chair of the Asia-Pacific Leadership Network forNuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament;Former Australian Foreign Minister
  • Professor Manpreet Sethi(India) who isDistinguished Fellow and head of the Nuclear Security Project at the Centre for Air Power Studies
  • Professor Pervez Hoodbhoy(Pakistan).Former Chair and professor, Department of physics at Quaid e Azam University. Member of the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters
  • Dr Tong Zhao(China).Senior fellow in the Nuclear Policy Program at the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace located at the Carnegie–Tsinghua Center for Global Policy in Beijing
  • Vanda Proskova(Czech Republic),Vice-Chair ofPragueVision institute for Sustainable Security.

Session 2: Americas/Europe/Africa

Washington DC (EDT) 11:15am, London 4:15pm, Paris/Berlin: 5:15pm, Moscow 6:15pm. Register now. Speakers:
  • Mr Thomas Countryman(USA),Chair of the Arms Control Association Board of Directors, Former United States Assistant Secretary of State for International Security and Non-proliferation
  • Mr Andrey Baklitskiy(Russia),Senior Research Fellow, Center for Advanced American Studies, Institute of International Studies, MGIMO University of the Russian Foreign Ministry
  • General Bernard Norlain(France),Former Air Defence Commander and Air Combat Commander of the French Air Force. Vice-President of Initiatives pour le Désarmement Nucléaire
  • Lord Hannay of Chiswick(UK),Chair, All Party Group on Global Security and Non-proliferation
  • Commander Robert Forsyth(UK),Former Nuclear Submarine Commanding Officer, Royal Navy
  • Ms Uta Zapf(Germany/NATO/OSCE),Former Chair of the Bundestag Subcommittee on Disarmament and Arms Control
  • Ms Yasmeen Silva(USA),Partnerships Manager, Beyond the Bomb.
Event sponsors The webinar is hosted by theGeneva Centre for Security Policyand cosponsored byParliamentarians for Nuclear Non-proliferation and Disarmament, Peace Depot Japan, People for Nuclear Disarmament, PragueVision Institute for Sustainable Securityand theWorld Future Council.